• Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kitsune on Nolíte expavéscere . . .
    Miniatures Unboxing:… on Figure Unboxing: Nendoroid Shi…
    All Aboard the Anima… on Diego’s day on the Narut…
    chamberwolf on Still alive, still reading man…
    Field Report: A Morn… on Japan 2009 Highlights: Kyoto I…
    Field Report: The Au… on Diego’s day at Jōja…
    Field Report: Kōchi… on Diego’s day at Hikone…
  • Archives

  • Calendar

    May 2008
    S M T W T F S
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • © ディエゴの日々 (Diego no Hibi). All Rights Reserved.

The Art of Fullmetal Alchemist 2

Photobucket

I’m off to HK tomorrow and I won’t be back for a week, so here’s a parting gift of artbook eye candy to tide you over.

Today the spotlight falls on The Art of Fullmetal Alchemist 2, featuring the work of well-known mangaka Arakawa Hiromu.

A few NBs: The photos suck, as usual – the best one can expect from a rush job and an antique digicam. Apologies for the dim lighting; storm clouds have pretty much blotted out the afternoon sun. And clicking on the images won’t take you to bigger or sharper versions, so don’t bother.

Now back to the book. I hooked this prize from the art shelves of Bibliarch in Glorietta a few days ago. At P1,199 (about US$28), I wouldn’t call it a bargain, but the price tag seems quite reasonable for a good-quality hardbound tome of this kind. What you get is over a hundred pages of art and commentary from the hand of Arakawa Hiromu, creator of the phenomenally popular Fullmetal Alchemist manga series, covering images that were first published between January 2004 and December 2005. Initially released in Japan in 2006, the artbook was picked up by Viz Media and published in 2007 with translated text, although the original right-to-left format has been preserved for this hardcover English-language version.

I’m no Hagaren fan (I dropped the anime a few episodes in and I’ve never touched the manga), but I have a weakness for artbooks in general, so the second I laid eyes on The Art of Fullmetal Alchemist 2 I knew my credit card was about to take another painful swipe. Cracking open the book for a pre-purchase preview, I gave the art a once-over. The illustrations weren’t exactly to my liking – skimpy on details and generally lacking in depth – but I spotted a few gems scattered here and there, and on the whole the art was pleasant to look at.

Each illustration is accompanied by a brief, often humorous (and occasionally revealing) comment from Arakawa-sensei. I would have appreciated a more extensive commentary than the one-liners that ultimately made their way into the book, but since this is more than what one normally gets from artbooks (which are frequently text-free) I’m happy to give the feature a thumbs-up.

Okay, enough chatter. Here’s a small sample of the illustrations published in The Art of Fullmetal Alchemist 2.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

2 Responses

  1. The art… I dunno, it is indeed very lacking in detail and is generally overly simplistic. Even if it were on sale, I probably wouldn’t buy, given that I’m not an FMA fan anyway. I saw a copy of this in the Fully Booked in Greenhills ages ago though, perhaps this is it?
    And on a side note, I’d spotted an aBe artbook in the Powerbooks in Megamall, though I bet it’s been sold by now, considering this was about half a year ago.

  2. ^even its simple but i like it…even its simple, but the artwok is very good…i think hiromu sensei is using an acrylic coloring…its hard to use that i think

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.