Anime Matsuri in Manila

Photobucket

Back from my HK-Macau holiday – but we’ll save the travel stories for future posts. Right now, I have some news that Manila-based otaku will probably find more interesting than an extended essay on Portuguese colonial architecture and Lord Stow’s egg tarts.

As part of this year’s Eiga Sai – an annual event showcasing the work of Japanese film-makers – the Embassy of Japan and the Japan Foundation (Manila) are hosting a two-day J-Pop Anime Matsuri featuring the 2006 animated film Toki o Kakeru Shoujo.

TokiKake will be shown with English subtitles in Shangri-La Plaza Cinema 3 on the 26th (Saturday) and 27th (Sunday) of July 2008. There will be one screening on the 26th (at 6:00 PM) and two on the 27th (at 2:00 PM and at 8:00 PM). Admission is free.

From the Japan Foundation’s official website:
Press Release
Flyer (PDF document with film synopses and a full timetable)
Screening Schedule

4 Responses

  1. I’m planning to get all three screenings of the movie (however impossible it may be) – perhaps we can have a bit of a meet-up?

  2. @Zeroblade: Sounds great. I’m planning to catch at least one screening myself (probably the one scheduled for Saturday), unless something work-related blows my weekend plans clear out of the water. Too bad my planned resignation date falls AFTER Eiga Sai 2008. (T_T)

    I’m also planning to check out some of the live-action offerings (again, subject to my ever-present time constraints). I’ve heard some good things about “Linda Linda Linda”, so I might go see that one, and I’m digging around for more information on “Canary”. Are there any films you also have your eye on?

  3. Honestly, only Linda Linda Linda and A Stranger of Mine sound interesting to me. Last year had a number of better films compared to this; Out of This World, in particular, was really good.

  4. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Urtext.

Leave a Reply

