• Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kitsune on Nolíte expavéscere . . .
    Miniatures Unboxing:… on Figure Unboxing: Nendoroid Shi…
    All Aboard the Anima… on Diego’s day on the Narut…
    chamberwolf on Still alive, still reading man…
    Field Report: A Morn… on Japan 2009 Highlights: Kyoto I…
    Field Report: The Au… on Diego’s day at Jōja…
    Field Report: Kōchi… on Diego’s day at Hikone…
  • Archives

  • Calendar

    March 2010
    S M T W T F S
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • © ディエゴの日々 (Diego no Hibi). All Rights Reserved.

Unboxing Evangelion: 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone

My first Blu-ray disc.

Sweet.

This is not a review post; my schedule will need to clear up a bit more before I can write one of those. (There’s also the minor, completely inconsequential fact that I don’t have a Blu-ray player at this particular moment, but that little hiccup will be remedied within the day.)

We have the front of the slipcase above, and the other side below. Printed cardboard with an iridescent layer.

Freed from the slipcase, the actual disc folder features Ikari Shinji on the back (left) and Ayanami Rei on the front (right). Printed cardboard.

The folder contains the Blu-ray disc mounted on one side and has a small pocket for the information booklet on the opposite side. Cardboard with an iridescent layer; clear plastic.

The pocket also holds a mail-in reply card and a small promotional insert listing Funimation’s Blu-ray anime releases. I normally don’t pay much attention to these things, but one title in particular caught my eye (and has now been marked out as a potential future acquisition).

More on this soon (time permitting). Cheerio.

11 Responses

  1. I don’t like how the american release the movie focus much more on mere robot action than anything else. I mean, look at the GIANT ROBOT written on the slipcase… the american trailer fall under that criticism as well.

    • Agreed on that thought. Indeed, it could be worse for some than others, and for reasons not as deep as the fact that some of the franchise’s stronger/epoch-defining points have been underplayed. Speaking purely from my own perspective (i.e., that of a mecha-sceptic dipping his toe into unfamiliar waters), emblazoning GIANT ROBOT across the merchandise is hardly a recipe for marketing success.

      On the other hand, at the time I ordered this disc, I had seen almost nothing of Funimation’s promotional material (I don’t even recall watching any trailers for this film, American or Japanese). I’d heard good things about it, I’d had people I trust speak warmly of the series, I’d read good reviews of the recent rebuild project. Snapping up the film was the natural consequence, flawed US promotional strategy notwithstanding.

      Let’s hope I enjoy the film more than the packaging.

      (Speaking of which, I’d better see to getting that player now . . .)

      • Oh yeah; while the container might be not the best out there, the content is most certainty worthwhile. I was fortunate enough to see that movie on the big screen, with original audio and English subs, just how I like them. Despite having seen the original series, I was still blown away by it.

        On a side note, I’m having a particular interest in that since I’m also planning on buying it as my first Blu-Ray… along with a player, which ironically will probably be a PS3 just like you did.

  2. […] Unboxing Evangelion: 1.11 You Are (Not) Alone […]

  3. I think Diego is right. Not much trailers was seen when it was released but the content of this movie is surely worth anyone’s time. I also think the description of the content on this blog is good, it is very elaborate.

    Valerie

  4. At first I thought the Blu-Ray disc was a fake one. Turns out it’s just me and my monitor acting up again.

    On a more serious note, the packaging’s good. My only gripe was, as Diego pointed out, they shouldn’t have emphasized the GIANT ROBOTS too much, because they are not the highlight of the story (I won’t spoil the main story though).

    Overall, seems like a good purchase to me.

  5. I remember watching the original version back in my college days. Is this a collection of the episodes shown in TV, or is this another season?

    Robert –

  6. @rwerz

    This is a movie carved out of the TV episodes.

    Valerie

    • So basically, a movie summary of some sorts? I doubt that they can include all of the major events in the TV series. 😦

      Robert –

  7. Like it or not, respect it or not, the original 1995 Neon Genesis Evangelion TV series is one of the rare anime titles which can legitimately be called a landmark in anime

  8. boy, it has been a while now since I have watched my Evangelion videos but it was nice to get reacquainted. While I understand that the story line in the movie version did need to be compressed, I did hope they could have made it longer to accommodate more highlights included in the series. Nonetheless, it was still good. I just wish I could have seen it on the big screen. No doubt it would have been even better.

    brad
    My Latest Post: Magnetic Chess

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.