• Recent Posts

  • Recent Comments

    Kitsune on Nolíte expavéscere . . .
    Miniatures Unboxing:… on Figure Unboxing: Nendoroid Shi…
    All Aboard the Anima… on Diego’s day on the Narut…
    chamberwolf on Still alive, still reading man…
    Field Report: A Morn… on Japan 2009 Highlights: Kyoto I…
    Field Report: The Au… on Diego’s day at Jōja…
    Field Report: Kōchi… on Diego’s day at Hikone…
  • Archives

  • Calendar

    June 2008
    S M T W T F S
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • © ディエゴの日々 (Diego no Hibi). All Rights Reserved.

5 Centimeters Per Second – Eiga Chirashi

Here’s an extra dose of eye candy for fans of Shinkai’s Byousoku 5 Centimeter: front-and-back photographs of the chirashi I purchased in Singapore last year.

Image of the back after the jump.

Clicking on the images will take you to larger versions of the same.

Now you may have noticed a small stamp on the lower right hand corner of the reverse side. Most chirashi – among those I’ve seen, at any rate – include the name and other details of the cinema where they were distributed somewhere on the back, usually on a blank space provided specifically for this purpose. The details are either stamped onto the chirashi (as with this one) or printed. On the chirashi featured here, the stamp reads “Hiroshima Salon Cinema– I’m not sure if “saron” should be read as “salon” (more likely) or if it really was meant to stand for “saron” (less likely). [Edit (16 June 2008): It’s “salon”, all right. My thanks to Xcomp for confirming it and for providing a link to the cinema’s website.] There’s also a date (28 April 2007), what looks like the cinema’s address (Hiroshima-shi, Naka-ku, Ootemachi 5-8-6) and the cinema’s telephone number.

I acquired this specimen from the Esplanade Mall branch of Pop Corn Pop. I’ve forgotten how much I paid for it, but if the prices on their website are any indication, it must have cost something in the region of S$5 – a wonderful bargain for such an interesting (and beautiful) piece of memorabilia.

This website has some additional information on chirashi in general.

3 Responses

  1. Nice flyer! I’ve seen the front image many times already in promotions but I like the back and it’s stamped even! Makes it all the more special. Only flyer I have is the one I got with the Makoto Shinkai Artbook ^^;

    And you’re right about “Salon Cinema”. They have their own website.

    http://www.saloncinema-cinetwin.jp/

  2. @Xcomp: Thanks for the link! Those theatres look nice.

    And I give those reclining seats in Salon Cinema 2 a hearty thumbs-up.

  3. […] about several examples that I actually paid for at a collectors’ store – see here and here.) Needless to say, I longed to help myself to the flyers like a famished man at a buffet table, […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.