Korean pop idol sings cover of “5 Centimetres Per Second” theme. Diego reminisces.

I’m not a K-pop fan, but I do watch Korean variety shows (1박 2일 for example) and I’ve become familiar with a few industry names through guest appearances on those programmes. Needless to say, I was rather amused to learn that Park Chanyeol – a chap I’d seen a couple of times on KBS network shows – recently belted out his own rendition of the 1997 song “One More Time, One More Chance”, which gained a new popularity ten years after its original release when it featured prominently in the 2007 Shinkai Makoto anime film 5 Centimetres Per Second.

It’s not half bad, actually, and as I was listening to the song my thoughts began to turn back towards that film and my reaction to its rather controversial ending. I’ve got the movie on Blu-ray and might give it a rewatch soon, if only to reminisce about the glory days of my anime fanhood – long since past, of course, although my enthusiasm for the medium remains.

(Hat tip to Soompi for the original news.)

Leave a Reply

