The gathering storm

The Face of Despair

The blissful, halcyon days of my self-imposed exile from work are fast approaching their end. In a few weeks, I shall return to the not-quite-as-wonderful world of labour, toiling five days out of seven – and possibly more when the occasion calls for it – just to make enough money to support my insatiable profligacy. My silence over the past week is due in part to my having to rush this way and that, collecting documents and preparing the paperwork needed before I once more assume the crushing yoke of white-collar servitude.

Nah, seriously, it’s not as bad as all that. I’m quite excited about my new job, actually: large organisation with an international presence, ample opportunities for career and personal development, and (most importantly) assurances of a reasonable work-life balance. Best of all, in return for losing my freedom to the daily grind of gainful employment, I can expect a not-entirely-unreasonable financial boost a couple of times each month. Fresh fodder to fuel the fire of my flaming fanboyism, providing the necessary resources with which I can equip myself with the necessities of an obsessive anime enthusiast’s life: DVDs, manga, artbooks, and all manner of useless merchandise. Not to mention regular trips to the indescribably beautiful Land of Raw Fish on Rice, which I’d like to take at least once every two years if I am able to.

There’s no need to announce a hiatus since I fully intend to keep blogging as regularly as possible. I shall merely revert to the arrangements that were in place the last time I was gainfully employed: blog whenever I can, pause whenever I need to. Naturally, the rate at which I can write and publish posts will probably diminish as work starts eating away at my personal time, but I haven’t the slightest intention of stopping completely.

Cheerio.

4 Responses

  1. Lovely. I hope you enjoy your new job! (or at least not go crazy with it)

  2. @Zeroblade: Thanks. I’ve been warned to expect fairly long hours, but the pay isn’t half bad, and in this economic climate one can’t afford to be picky.

  3. Congratulations on your new job! I hope it will provide a nice work-life balance, and you’ll enjoy working there🙂

  4. @Kitsune: Thanks. The first few weeks will probably be rough as I try to ease myself out of holiday mode, but once I get settled into my new routine things will hopefully turn out for the better.

Leave a Reply

