Tokyopop puts Aria back on track

neo_venezia_sunset

A bit of good news from MangaBlog: apparently, Volume 5 of the Aria manga series is due to hit store shelves in November. Huzzah!

Now for a bit of bad news from MangaBlog: apparently, Volume 5 of the Aria manga series is due to hit store shelves in effing November. That’s half a blooming year away.

In any case, I’d like to see an official scrip or press release of some kind before I start jumping for joy. And even if this report is 100% accurate, a lot can happen between now and effing November. Collapsing sales, licence withdrawals, bankruptcies, meteor strikes – you name it. So at this point, there’s still no guarantee that I’ll get my Akari fix before the year is out, and unless Tokyopop formally renounces (or loses) its English publication rights I’m not touching scanlations with a bargepole.

Nevertheless, I’m prepared to use those two words that politicians and spokesmen seem to love so much: cautiously optimistic. Let’s hope that this announcement is true and, if so, that Tokyopop will follow through.

5 Responses

  1. I was wondering about Vol 5, F#$^#$^ November, why do they choose to torment us those bastards…

  2. @dood: Cash flow problems. At least that’s the theory. In any case, I’d be happy to extend them a working capital loan in the amount of five dollars if they can guarantee no further delays.

  3. YES. FINALLY. It’s actually kind of a good thing it’s still way in November since I’m short for cash, as I always am.

  4. @Zeroblade: Good point. On the other hand, if it were made available right now, I’d have no qualms about grovelling at my mum’s feet for an emergency loan.

  5. Thumbs up for this article.

Leave a Reply

