Now this is my idea of a service shot

jiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Anyone who demands proof of Nagato’s unparalleled awesomeness need only have her stare at them for a few seconds.

No swimsuits. No miniskirts. No nekomimi. No provocative poses. Have them if you must, but they are superfluous to requirements.

Her eyes, her uncompromising demeanour, her freakishly powerful silence are enough to make empires fall, infants sing praise and kings grovel at her feet in awestruck obeisance.

And so before the assembled company of my otaku brethren, I bend my knee before our Sovereign Lady and pronounce the following words:

I, Diego, of the humblest station, do become thy liege man of life and limb, and of earthly reverence; and truth and honour will I bear unto thee, to live and defend, against all manner of folks.

Let us now sing the national anthem.

Here ends my latest episode of Nagato-induced insanity. Regular lucid programming will resume soon.

11 Responses

  1. Well… That’s one fetish I didn’t know existed :heh:
    I’d go with Mikuru though😛

  2. I don’t know about a “national anthem” or an oath of fealty, but that is a great, great image you posted there: so much depth in the stillness. Brilliant KyoAni sakuga work. And your description adds to the depth.

  3. @npal: Let’s just say my preferences run to quiet, bookish, almost-invincible humanoid interfaces.

    @hashi: Well said – KyoAni rank among the best when it comes to this sort of thing. That’s why I don’t take kindly to the know-it-alls on forums who keep insisting “don’t bother with Kadotroll’s anime, just read the light novels like I did!”. Hmm, printed page vs walking, talking, full-colour renditions – I’ll take the walkie-talkies any day.

    I don’t know about a “national anthem” or an oath of fealty – Mark of my descent from calm rationality to lovestruck lunacy.

  4. Yeah, that shot got me too. And I have to totally agree: no type of pervy fanservice can even hold a candle to this. It’s dramatic. It’s meaningful. It’s got a sort of depth and complexity to it. A real woman doesn’t need a low cut blouse or a short skirt; she only needs one look.

  5. Indeed that shot of her is just lovely. You could just stare at her for hours and hours.

  6. @Michael: Agreed on all points. In fact, I think that applying the usual fanservice tools to Nagato can detract from her natural appeal. I’ve seen her in cat costumes and beachwear; frankly, it’s just not the same.

    @Zeroblade: No wonder she can stop time.

  7. @ Diego

    Good point. Fanservice has to stay in character in order for it to truly work.

  8. Now if only she would have long hair..

  9. @gleamstreet: Hmm, long-haired Nagato . . . doesn’t quite work for me. Longer usually means better – but not in this case.

    On the other hand, I’m curious as to how she’d look. If anyone out there has already done a piece of speculative fanart based on this theme, I’d love to see it.

  10. YES YES, and YES. Easily the best character in the show, and supremely awesome in general.

    Nagato is grand.

  11. @glothelegend: Hear, hear!

Leave a Reply

