New anime project from Yoshitoshi ABe

Anime News Network (citing BUNKA:EXTEND) reports that Haibane Renmei creator Abe Yoshitoshi is working on a new animation project, titled Desperant. Few details were given when Abe made this disclosure last month, and no announcement was scheduled to be made in Japan until around yesterday. I’m keeping an eye on Abe’s blog in case more information about the project appears within the next few days.

UPDATE (22 May 2009): New post up on the blog. Naturally, I can’t understand much of it – but I’m going through it carefully in the hope that my limited knowledge of moonspeak will allow me to digest at least some of the text. In any case, I expect someone with better language skills will pick up on this soon, so let’s just wait.

FURTHER UPDATE (22 May 2009): Yes, it’s official – we can look forward to a new series. There’s been a minor screw-up with the title, though: it should be Despera, short for “Desperado”. Tip of the hat to ANN. (Apparently, a lot of the same people who worked on Serial Experiments Lain will return for the project – although I’m not sure what that implies since I haven’t seen SEL.)

3 Responses

  1. That’s very exciting news! I look forward to the next Abe anime🙂

    You have not seen SEL?!!! O_O I consider it one of the top five anime of all time and highly recommend it, but keep in mind that SEL is quite twisted and your enjoyment may vary.

  2. @Kitsune: Unless the subject matter turns me away, ABe’s latest project will probably shoot to the top of my viewing queue as soon as it’s released.

    I’m still on the fence about SEL. Based on what I’ve read, it might not be my cup of tea. On the other hand, I’m a big fan of Haibane Renmei so I’m tempted to check it out just to see more of ABe’s talent at work.

Leave a Reply

