Farewell, Japan

I’m typing out this brief post in Narita Airport’s Yahoo! Cafe, which is pretty much the only place in this enormous building that offers free internet access. With less than an hour to go before I need to board my flight back home, I’d like to share a few thoughts about the journey I’ve just taken.

Simply put, it has been one incredible sojourn. Japan is an utterly beautiful country, rich in wonders both divinely wrought and crafted by the hand of man, and even as I relish the last few moments I have left on Japanese territory my thoughts inevitably turn towards the dream of one day returning to its shores. I regret that, as a second-rate photographer, the thousands (literally) of images I’ve captured over the last two weeks won’t do justice to the magnificent vistas that these eyes have beheld, but I hope that they’ll at least succeed in conveying some sense of this country’s peerless splendour.

In any case, there are some things that not even the finest photographs can reproduce. The sheer joy of walking underneath a canopy of sakura trees in bloom, the gentle comfort of sipping a cup of hot matcha within sight of an ancient bamboo grove, the sense of wonder at gazing upon works of art that have survived the ceaseless march of time to bear the visions of their creators unto the unborn ages: these are feelings and sensations that must be experienced first-hand, which I’ve been privileged to do. At the risk of sounding melodramatic (too late for that, perhaps, in view of the superlatives I’ve unleashed so far), it’s an experience I’ll treasure for years to come.

Farewell, Japan. And thank you.

3 Responses

  1. What a wonderful trip it must have been for you! It sounds like you enjoyed it very much🙂 I look forward to your photos and reports🙂

  2. @Kitsune: I’ll have the Day 1 report ready in a day or so. It’ll be a rush job, but that’s okay since nothing much happened on that day (Day 2 was the first full day of exploring).

    @Kairu Ishimaru: Sorry, not even heterochromia is enough to keep me in Japan. But a timely gift of, say, 1 million yen for hotels and other expenses might.😉

Leave a Reply

