Global Shinkai Day report

hard_road_to_the_stars

Here’s a bald account of how I spent the first annual Global Shinkai Day.

At around noon on the 28th, I poured myself a cup of apple juice (no wine to hand, I’m afraid) and raised it in a toast, silently mouthing these words:

To Shinkai Makoto.

May he be given many more years in which to practise his craft, for the enjoyment and edification of all.

Cheers.

I took one sip, settled into a comfortable sofa and slowly finished my beverage whilst watching the short films Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko (She and Her Cat, 1999) and Hoshi no Koe (Voices of a [Distant] Star, 2002).

Then I was off to a meeting that took up most of the afternoon. That night, I immediately moved on to Shinkai’s first full-length film, Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho (Beyond the Clouds, the Promised Place, 2004). The following morning, I completed the screening with Byousoku 5 Centimeter (5 Centimetres Per Second, 2007) and capped the event with a closing toast:

To Shinkai Makoto.

In gratitude for the past, and in anticipation of the future.

Cheers.

Byousoku 5 Centimeter left me in a somewhat melancholic mood – as it usually does whenever I stupidly allow myself to watch that final encounter on the level crossing – so I looked for a bit of cheering up from the latest episodes of Clannad ~After Story~ and Toradora!. As luck (or hitsuzen?) would have it, that week’s episode of Clannad didn’t end on a very cheerful note (despite all of Crazy Starfish Lady’s best efforts), and Toradora!, which I could normally count on for a healthy dose of ribald humour, just had to finish with the mother of all cliffhangers.

The end result was that I found myself spending a good deal of time pacing about in my library, brooding upon Shinkai’s work and the themes that shaped his unique brand of storytelling. Whether I can distill those thoughts of mine into a blog entry suitable for publication is something I’m not yet certain of, but if it can at all be managed it will have to wait for another post.

Cheerio.

3 Responses

  1. Yay! Apple juice!🙂

    Sounds like a productive day, but it took you quite some time to recover after 5 cm/sec…

    I look forward to that distilled drink of your thoughts regarding Shinkai’s work🙂

  2. Ah, I feel bad for not watching Kumo no Mukou for Shinkai day😦

  3. @Kitsune: B5Cm’s ending tends to drain the life out of me. Too bad the other series I counted on for solace couldn’t oblige on that particular weekend.

    @Zeroblade: Well, there’s always next year. 😉 In fact, if the master’s next project doesn’t come out in time for Global Shinkai Day 2010 you’ll at least have one film in reserve.

Leave a Reply

