Diego’s plans for Global Shinkai Day

akari_in_the_sunset1

In my little corner of the world, Global Shinkai Day 2009 will be a quiet affair centred on a chronological private DVD viewing of Shinkai Makoto’s four main works: Kanojo to Kanojo no Neko; Hoshi no Koe; Kumo no Mukou, Yakusoku no Basho; and Byousoku 5 Centimeter. I had originally intended to do a marathon viewing, but I decided that it probably wasn’t feasible to fit a continuous screening into my schedule so I shall watch the films separately as time permits during 27-28 February.

I also plan to begin the two-day screening period with a toast in honour of Shinkai, paired with a similar toast at the end of Byousoku 5 Centimeter to round off the event. To that end, I’ll nip down to a nearby branch of Marks & Spencer for a bottle of good sherry or port suitable for the occasion – and if I lack the time, I suppose whatever happens to be lurking in the fridge will have to do. 😉

Incidentally, Crunchyroll have just announced that they will stream Shinkai’s three most recent films for their members over a 24-hour period on Saturday to mark the global event. One board poster – probably a representative of Crunchyroll or quoting a press release I haven’t heard of – wrote this comment:

In addition to having the English-subtitled version of 5cm, we are premiering a brand-new, never before seen English dub exclusively on Crunchyroll! This dub has been specially prepared under the supervision of CoMix Wave Films and is of extremely high quality.

I’m not a dub person and I’d rather see all four films on the spanking new LCD telly my parents recently plonked down a small fortune for, so the announcement doesn’t alter any of my plans. The reception from a number of commenters to the article linked above was also less than enthusiastic, given that Crunchyroll’s limited video quality won’t do justice to Shinkai’s rich animation style. On the other hand, I’m grateful to Crunchyroll for helping to introduce the master’s work to a wider audience, especially those who might not otherwise get the chance to view Byousoku 5 Centimeter now that ADV’s R1 DVD release is out of print.

6 Responses

  1. Oh my, sounds like you have a nice plan to celebrate the day 🙂 Don’t watch too many of these works though – too much of a good thing can be bad for you 😛

    Probably, I’ll just make a brief post about his works on that day 🙂

  2. That’s sounds like a pretty good plan ti me; I might do something similar. I hope my Shinkai Collection shipment will arrive by the end of the week…

  3. That dubbed version kinda interests me. Perhaps I’ll try it, though I’ve never been a fan of fan-dubbing…

  4. Funny you just happened to find out about the day at the same time as me! I’ll be dropping along too just to see how the chat works out and it’ll be interesting to see how many people will be making time out to join an online gathering =P

  5. @Kitsune: Ah, but where Shinkai is concerned, one can never have too much. (Although his backgrounds do tend to give one an eye-candy overload.)

    @g0rth0r: I hope you’ll get your copy on time. If not, Crunchyroll should help fill in the gap until the collection arrives.

    @mithfalath: I’m also a little intrigued by that new dub. If the Crunchyroll streams are open to non-subscribers and have no regional restrictions, I might give it a try just to see how well (or badly) made it is.

    @Xcomp: Hmm, I wasn’t even planning on joining the online gathering – bit of an unsociable fellow, me 😉 – but thanks for bringing it up. I might give it a go after all, time permitting.

  6. […] only heard about this from Diego’s post, actually. I never knew there was such an event. As such, the man does indeed deserve […]

Leave a Reply

