Freedom!

Ordinarily, unemployment is not something to rejoice about – yet in my case it’s certainly a cause for celebration. After three years of servile white-collar labour I can finally look forward to a few precious months of rest from the rat race. I’ll have to hit the racecourse again at some point in the future (probably when my cash reserves run out), but for now I am free to savour each minute and claim it as entirely my own.

A major change in my publishing programme is in the works, so check back for an announcement on that matter within the next few days (along with a brief write-up on what I plan to do now that I’ve shaken off the chains of gainful employment). By the middle of the week after next, activity levels on this blog should return to normal.

9 Responses

  1. If only we could live off of anime/manga…

  2. Congratulations on your liberation! 🙂 Enjoy your rest 🙂

    I hope your next job will be much more fulfilling 🙂

    I look forward to your posts 🙂

  3. @ffviiknight: The dream of every true anime enthusiast. 😉 Of course, we can always try to turn that dream into reality by joining the anime industry in some way. Experienced bloggers might become professional reviewers, talented fansubbers might go legit via one of the big R1 distributors, and so on. (Then there are those who fancy themselves the next breakaway seiyuu hit, but that’s another story . . .) It’s a hard road – and one I’m not inclined to take – but I agree that there’s nothing like profiting off one’s hobby.

    @Kitsune: Thanks. I’m terribly burned out and will require every moment of rest I can lay my hands on. The sad bit is that my former job was actually quite fulfilling, reasonably well-paying, and a good match to my skills and interests; moreover, I had excellent relations with the people around me and (by all accounts) the higher-ups were very impressed with my performance. (I wouldn’t have lasted three years otherwise!) But in the end, it proved far too taxing in terms of both the quantity of work involved and the responsibilities it entailed. It just wasn’t worth it.

    (Hmm, my comment responses seem excessively verbose today. Must be all that pent-up blogging energy.)

  4. Enjoy your freedom; looking forward to seeing what you’ll end up doing with all that spare time now.

  5. Viva Freedom!

    What else can I say but live life with no regrets! Looking forward to your merry blogging too 😄

  6. @Zeroblade: I’ve got a long list of must-dos for my brief period of liberty; now I just need to cut out the stuff that simply isn’t possible. (“Wave to the Emperor on his birthday” is clearly out, since 23 December is only three weeks away and it’s probably too late to get bargain bookings.) Full write-up to follow.

    @usagijen: Amen and amen! Now all I need is a ten-million-dollar trust fund based on non-volatile government securities so that I can really live life without regrets. 😉

    In any case, my planned March invasion of Japan will obliterate a good chunk of my war chest, so it’ll be back to the salt mines by this time next year, I think.

  7. FREEDOM!

  8. Welcome back, Diego! And er, enjoy your break!

    Could always try and do what Danny Choo’s managed to achieve and build a site with a high number of visitors and affiliate programmes. Enough income for living expenses.

  9. @Kairu Ishimaru: Yes, freedom! Then back to slavery once the itch to buy more otaku goodies strikes. 😉

    @Xcomp: Thanks. As for Danny Choo, I think he’s in a league of his own – a benchmark too high for Average Joe Blogger, I’d say!

Leave a Reply

