A new manga mine opens in Makati

how_much_shall_i_spend_today

I’m bogged down with work so there won’t be a lot of updates this week. I wasn’t even planning on putting up a new post tonight, but I found something nice on my usual lunchtime walk and I figured it might be of some interest to readers in my corner of the world.

I was ambling through Glorietta in Makati when I came across a banner trumpeting the recent arrival of a new store called Planet X Comics. Not being a comic person, I glanced away almost immediately and only realised a few steps on that where there’s comic books, there’s bound to be manga. I veered off my fixed walking course and headed for the location advertised in the banner, somewhere on the third floor. Sure enough, they had a whole row of glass-fronted bookcases lined with manga (just make a hard right at the entrance and head for the far wall). It wasn’t the biggest selection I’d seen – the Bonifacio High Street branch of Fully Booked has a firm hold on that distinction – but it was clearly the best in the area, and even though they didn’t have anything I wanted at the time I marked down the store for future reference. The “new arrivals” list (updated weekly) was rich in manga that had just been released in the U.S., so I’m optimistic that their collection will be kept up to date.

After I got home, a quick Google search revealed that the store’s opening was already old news to the comic book collecting community: the ribbon was cut on 27 September, and they even had a few (Filipino) Marvel artists on hand for book signings.

So if you’re in Makati and desperate for a manga fix, I’d recommend paying this store a visit. (Details from AyalaMalls.com.ph: Glorietta 4, Third Floor; 7283347/7283348.)

5 Responses

  1. have you tried going to comic odessy in Robinson’s Place Ermita? Their selection is equal if not more than that of fully booked in Bonifacio.

  2. Cool. I always go there every Saturday (whenever there’s classes), and this’d be another good stop on the way there and back.

  3. i wish there are mangas like lucky star english manga there

  4. but is there any actually?

    not just marvel comics or something like that but some from japan

    if there is, pls e-mail me at misha_dls@yahoo.com

    tnx

  5. @konata: I don’t recall seeing any Lucky Star volumes there. On the other hand, I think they accept special orders – ask the store clerk and have the title/author ready just in case.

    The bulk of their collection consists of American comics, but their Japanese manga collection is pretty good too. No raw tankoubon fresh from Japan, though – it’s all translated stuff, in English.

Leave a Reply

