Sayonara, Fukuzawa-sama

I’ve been under the weather these past couple of days (head cold and stress-induced malaise), but there’s nothing like some hot chicken soup and a financially ruinous round of retail therapy to perk up one’s spirits.

(On the other hand, the thought of actually paying the bill at the end of the month is threatening to send me into a relapse.)

This week’s damage (items purchased are manga unless otherwise indicated):

From Bibliarch (Glorietta) –> xxxHolic 12 = PHP438.00

From Powerbooks (Greenbelt) –> Cromartie High School 1; The Anime Companion 2 (reference book) = PHP648.00 (sale price)

From Fully Booked (Bonifacio High Street) –> Aria 1 and 2; Mushishi 4; Yozakura Quartet 2; Hayate the Combat Butler 3, 4, and 7; Translucent 3 = PHP4,049.85 (after member’s discount)

From Amazon.com –> Kanon 5 (anime DVD); two books about the R.M.S. Titanic (no relation to anime/manga) = USD148.49 (with postage)

From YesAsia –> Kanon 6 (anime DVD); Lucky Star 2 (special edition anime DVD) = USD96.92 (with postage; preorder)

TOTAL DAMAGE: USD360.05/PHP16,130.24 (foreign currency elements translated at USD1.00=PHP44.80)

Moral of the day: Never get sick.

* * *

P.S.: Review of Lucky Star 2 to follow as soon as I get it. I don’t normally review manga, but I might write a piece or two about Yozakura Quartet and Aria if my schedule loosens up.

P.S. 2: A quick check of the blog stats page shows that I’m getting good traffic from my review of Lucky Star volume 1, plus some of my older DVD reviews (Last Exile volume 1 in particular). I should try to put these out more often.

P.S. 3: I want one.

3 Responses

  1. Holy fucking shit. Your expenditures are OVER16000

    And damn, that reminds me – I need to secure more copies of AQUA and ARIA as well as Mushishi 4. I asked those guys to bring in every single copy of the former two weeks ago though, doesn’t seem like they’re doing much of a job :<

  2. that is quite some damage O_O
    I do hope you got yourself a Fully Booked and/or Powerbooks discount card, to lessen the damages, at the very least.

    I believe the DVDs you ordered are Region 1 stuff? Coz if you’re into buying R2 DVDs I’d highly recommend buying from HMV instead of Amazon and Yesasia. It’s the best online shop I’ve seen so far, the prices of their goods and the shipping charge is quite a deal.

  3. @Zeroblade: That’s not even the end of it. I dropped by Fully Booked again today and grabbed four more volumes. It took every last ounce of willpower for me to prise my fingers away from three of them, but I knew I had to start cutting down so I only walked away with “School Rumble” 10.

    @usagijen: No worries – I have discount cards from both stores, so the damage isn’t quite as bad as it would have been otherwise.

    And thanks for the tip! I’ll be sure to visit HMV more often. I’ve only ordered one R2 set so far (the LE Byousoku 5cm set) but I may start buying them more frequently as my Japanese improves. Right now I still need English subtitles – and I think I’ll need them for a little while longer – so it’s R1 for the time being.

Leave a Reply

