Blogging from my new toy

Okay, here’s the deal: I just unloaded a ton of cash on a 16GB iPod Touch. Cash that could’ve bought me a ton of anime DVDs, dozens of volumes of manga, maybe three or four figurines … well, you get the idea. I’m now trying to squeeze my money’s worth out of this overpriced little toy by playing around with all its fancy features – one of which is Apple’s Safari Internet browser. As a test (and also for a bit of fun), I logged the device into our home WiFi network and tapped out this brief blog post.

It’s an interesting experience, typing out a post on a screen less than four inches wide. The on-screen keyboard takes a bit of getting used to, but it’s not long before one gets the hang of it. (For the record, unlike many of my compatriots I call more often than I text, so fancy fingerwork has never been my forte.) While browsing the net from a souped-up MP3 player isn’t something I plan to do on a regular basis – not if I value my eyesight, at any rate – it’s a convenient way to check up on my dailies without having to get out of bed and turn on my stone-age PC on the third floor.

Okay, that’s all for tonight. My Last Exile DVD set arrived from the U.S. yesterday; I might put up a proper post about that tomorrow. Over and out.

UPDATE (25 November 2007): I’m afraid that post about Last Exile will take another week or so. Work bit a huge chunk out of my personal time this weekend and I’m still trying to catch up on things (including anime news and the like). I did manage to take a few pictures of the set, so I might publish a preview post within the next few days.

2 Responses

  1. For shame. You should’ve spent it on figures instead 😀

    How is it, by the way? Not that I want one though; a decent Hard Disk MP3 player’s good enough for me.

  2. It’s great. (^_^)

    There were a few, quite frankly terrifying hours just after I signed off on the credit card slip when my mind entertained some dark thoughts about the purchase (“you’ve just wasted a s***load of cash”, “you could’ve bought a discount ticket to Tokyo with that amount of money”, etc.). But once I got home and started browsing the ‘net via WiFi for the first time, all those demons got blasted straight out the window.

    The YouTube program is probably the best part of the deal. There’s no need to load YouTube on the iPod’s Safari browser; an icon on the main menu takes you to a special window through which you can search and watch videos directly from the site. These days I actually watch more AMVs on my iPod than on my PC.

    Then there’s the touch-based interface. I’m sure a lot of people have dismissed it as just another useless Apple gimmick (and ordinarily I’d agree with them), but it’s loads of fun to use, especially when viewing pictures. I get a lot of kicks just from zooming in and zooming out using two fingers.

    In the end, I guess it really just boils down to that: the fun factor. People might shake their heads and say that they’d rather go for a proper PDA, or a Blackberry, or a dedicated portable media player with more storage space – but I doubt any of those would be as much fun to use as this little gadget. In the last analysis, I think of the iPod Touch as a grown-up’s toy: deficient in features, short on space, and ridiculously overpriced, but as long as I’m entertained by it I’ll keep thinking it’s worth every penny.

    Oh, and it plays music too. 😉

Leave a Reply

