Filler post – Recent acquisitions

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I really don’t have anything of substance to write about right now, but I expect that to change over the next few weeks as a number of major DVD acquisitions start arriving from the US. (Unless work kills off what little remains of my precious leisure time, of course.)

First up is Geneon/Pioneer’s four-volume Haibane Renmei DVD set. I know a lot of you have already seen Haibane Renmei, and judging from the reviews and recommendations I’ve read it’s quite clear that the series has left a lasting impression on many people. In fact I’ve had my eye on this box set for about a year now, but I kept putting it off because my preferences lean heavily towards light, funny series – which this one apparently isn’t. There’s no disputing that it’s a highly regarded classic, though, so it’s about time I cleared a space for it on my DVD shelf. It should arrive on or before 20 September; expect a review within a month after that date (or maybe within two months if work drags me down again).

Next is the third limited-edition volume of Kadokawa/Bandai’s R1 Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu DVD release. I’ve had this on pre-order since July and it was originally supposed to ship out on 04 September, but for reasons still unknown to me the shelf date has been pushed back to 25 September. ETA 01 October; a review should be ready within a couple of weeks.

By 06 November, the fourth limited-edition volume of SHnY will start hitting store shelves in North America. No precise ETA on this one yet, although I expect it to arrive within a week after release date.

UPDATE (22 September 2007): The Haibane Renmei box set arrived on Monday, 17 September (thanks to DHL’s ever-reliable – and utterly expensive – express delivery service). So far I’ve only been able to set aside enough time for the first episode, but I absolutely loved it and I’m looking forward to the rest.

Leave a Reply

