The Host Club is coming to North America

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Hot news from Otakon 2007: representatives of FUNimation Entertainment have just announced that they’ve licensed Ouran High School Host Club for distribution in North America.

Great news for fans of the series – although I know this will give rise to yet another series of hefty charges to my credit card (and this year has already seen a record number of DVD acquisitions). Blast.

To any rich people who might be reading this: Please send money!

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I won’t say much about Ouran here since it’s already been blogged about extensively on Memento and Random Curiosity. Suffice it to say that this fun, fun, fun comedy series is one of my all-time favourites and that I am really looking forward to the R1 release.

Linkage: here’s one for a news article on ANN that briefly describes the FUNimation announcement, and here’s another (also on ANN) for a more detailed panel report covering the FUNimation session as a whole.

To round off this post, here are a couple of screenshots showing the Host Club dressed in Heian period attire – my favourite costume set. If you also have a favourite among the many wardrobe changes shown in the series, do let me know!

Now then, I’d better start saving – it’s scheduled for a 2008 release so I should have at least a good half-year to replenish my war chest . . .

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

2 Responses

  1. I don’t even remember the costumes they had anymore, except for that tropical attire. >_>

  2. hehe Yeh, Ouran’s definately one of the best comedies out there 🙂 on par with my current favourite, Lovely complex 😀

Leave a Reply

