Summer Season Write-Up

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Even Hayate’s getting into the summer spirit. Don’t get left behind!

With the summer season just around the corner, I’ve taken some time to assemble the following menu from which I will eventually select three to five series for active viewing. Please bear in mind that this post may undergo further edits (including series promotions and demotions) as additional information becomes available. Titles are arranged by category, and within each category they are sorted alphabetically.

Since this list is mainly for my own consumption – i.e. for keeping track of the shows I may or may not watch – I decided not to prepare a detailed write-up for any of the series listed below. For those who’d like to know more, the following summer preview posts are highly recommended:

  • BasuGasuBakuhatsu – Promotional images and brief descriptions. (Note: The link will take you to the first in a series of summer anime preview posts.)
  • (DoA)nimation – Absolutely MASSIVE list of upcoming releases (including movies and OVAs as well as television series).
  • j1m0ne’s blog – Data for each series = animation studio, music/composer, opening and ending themes, seiyuu (with cast photos for some entries), radio show details (if available).
  • Random Curiosity – Links to official sites and other webpages with additional information (e.g. ANN); airtimes in Japan (with US equivalents).
  • I’ve included links to Wikipedia for those series that have existing encyclopedia entries.

    I should also add that SPOILERS may have inadvertently crept into my list, either in the write-ups themselves or via links to other sites. Please exercise appropriate caution, especially when following the Wikipedia links. I know for a fact that some encyclopedia articles reveal key plot information (the one for School Days, for example, has detailed descriptions of several possible endings from the original game) so be careful where you click – you may end up regretting it.

    INTERESTED

    Moetan
    A series based on books designed to teach otaku the English language? Hell yeah! Whether or not masterpieces of awkwardness like “the wrong use of the magic equipment often embarrasses the girl in the bathroom when she is taking a bath” will find their way into the animated version remains to be seen, but if the producers play their cards right we could end up with the biggest laugh-fest of the season. On the other hand, with my very low tolerance for spoken Engrish (written/printed Engrish doesn’t bother me as much), I’m worried about being consumed by a fit of convulsing just a few minutes into the first episode.

    Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei
    Should be a nice, funny series (if the manga – which I haven’t read but know by reputation – is anything to go by), attempted suicide notwithstanding. A solid cast and appealing character design make this tragicomic show one of my must-sees for the new season.

    School Days
    The list of console-to-TV adaptations keeps growing with every passing season and results are (predictably) mixed. That said, I’m looking forward to this particular game-based show that centers on a high-school love triangle (mainly because I’ve heard some interesting things about the original game). I don’t know if the producers intend to take a Higurashi approach – i.e. various semi-independent arcs that lead to different conclusions – although it’s reasonable to expect that that’s exactly what we’ll get. With twenty-one possible game endings to choose from, though, it’s unlikely that all of them will make it into the anime.

    VAGUELY INTERESTED

    Baccano!
    I can’t quite put my finger on it, but something about this show appeals to me. (Probably the 1930s America setting, which is something I’ve never seen in anime before.) The character designs look okay too. On the other hand, the possibility of this show stretching out into a long series doesn’t bode well for its chances.

    Code-E
    Spontaneous electromagnetic wave generation is not something one normally sees in a high school classroom, but this show has enough of a slice-of-life feel for me to take it into consideration. Besides, I’m always a sucker for comedies (preferably non-romantic, but I’ll take what I can get).

    Doujin Work
    I loved Azumanga Daioh and I’m enjoying Lucky Star, so I’m now prepared to give any comedic 4-koma adaptation at least a fighting chance. Moreover, in the post-Genshiken era I’m always on the lookout for another take on the world of otaku (and doujinshi-ka in particular). Oh, and I think it’s worth mentioning that the main character’s name is 長菜なじみ (Osana Najimi). Heh heh.

    Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kai
    I didn’t finish the first season, but the parting was amicable and my last impression of it was fairly positive. Let’s see if the second season (assuming that I pick it up) can keep me on board all the way to the bitter, bloody, gory end.

    Kenko Zenrakei Suieibu Umisho
    Decent character designs and an interesting story earn this show a place on my radar screens (and possibly my to-watch list). I’m a little concerned about the main character’s habit of swimming in the nude (okay, I have a prudish streak – so sue me), but as long as the boundary between chotto ecchi and full-blown hentai isn’t crossed we shouldn’t have a problem. After all, I can sit through Nagasarete Airantou.

    Tetsuko no Tabi
    The character designs are a little off-putting, but in the midst of all the series that feature wand-waving magicians and pistol-packing zombie hunters a dose of the real world (or a reasonable facsimile thereof) couldn’t hurt. What’s more, Kino no Tabi left a lingering desire in me for journey-themed series, so I’ll put this one on my list just in case it turns out to be another winner. (I won’t bet the farm on that happening, though.)

    Zero no Tsukaima ~Futatsuki no Kishi~
    (Write-up to follow.)

    NOT INTERESTED

    Bokusatsu Tenshi Dokuro-chan 2
    (Write-up to follow. Maybe.)

    Buzzer Beater
    I hate basketball. And not just in a passive, kid-who-doesn’t-like-sports sort of way. End of story. (Of course, a burning hatred of American football didn’t stop me from enjoying Eyeshield 21, but I doubt they could pull off a similar coup with this one. As always, a positive reaction from the viewing public can still lead to a reconsideration.)

    Mononoke
    Didn’t like the character design. Besides, supernatural-themed shows aren’t my cup of tea.

    Mushi Uta
    (Write-up to follow. Maybe.)

    Nanatsuiro Drops
    The only reason this show isn’t any lower on my list is because the light novel was illustrated by Itou Noiji (of Suzumiya Haruhi fame). Everything else – the boy who turns into a stuffed animal, the magical girl, the fact that this series is based off an eroge, etc. – is something of a turn-off.

    Potemayo
    I know I said I’m ready to give any comedic 4-koma adaptation a chance, but there’s something about the promo art that just screams “Steer clear of this one!”. If people who eventually decide to watch the show give it a thumbs-up I’ll give it a shot.

    Shigurui
    (Write-up to follow. Maybe.)

    Sky Girls
    (Write-up to follow. Maybe.)

    Tokyo Majin Gakuen Kenpucho 2: Electric Boogaloo
    (Write-up to follow. Maybe.)

    Zombie Loan
    I’m not one for supernatural shows in general, and zombie-themed shows in particular annoy me to no end. Still, the character design looks nice; if people say good things about this series I may yet bump it up the list.

    REALLY NOT EVEN REMOTELY INTERESTED

    Soukou Kihei Votoms Pailsen Files
    Votoms. Ahahaha. (And that’s all you’re getting out of me on this one.)

    * * *

    Okay, that’s it for now. Let me know what you think – especially if it looks like I’m at risk of missing out on a show with loads of potential.

    Happy viewing!

    P.S.: I picked up a copy of Ayaka’s album First Message from Music One in Greenbelt the other day (P350 list price; P315 discounted – this is a locally manufactured licensed edition of the Japanese original, by the way). Didn’t care much for most of the songs, but I’m really digging Mikazuki.

    2 Responses

    1. […] haven’t seen anything that would lead to a major overhaul of my original summer rankings, although I’ve decided to give Sky Girls a shot after all. I’m also thinking of casting […]

    Leave a Reply

