Gotta catch ‘em all . . .

10Feb14 Sapporo ANA Pokemon Jet Pikachu Jumbo 747 001

. . . whether on land or in the air.

This February, whilst waiting for a domestic flight to Ōsaka, I caught sight of a model aeroplane on display in the departure area of Sapporo’s New Chitose Airport.

The type of aircraft might have been a common sight at airports the world over, but the livery was anything but.

10Feb14 Sapporo ANA Pokemon Jet Pikachu Jumbo 747 001

10Feb14 Sapporo ANA Pokemon Jet Pikachu Jumbo 747 002

10Feb14 Sapporo ANA Pokemon Jet Pikachu Jumbo 747 004

10Feb14 Sapporo ANA Pokemon Jet Pikachu Jumbo 747 003

I may not be a Pokémon fan – no antagonism towards the franchise, mind you, just not my cup of tea – but I would have jumped at the chance to fly in the real-world version of this fine bird. I’m an anime enthusiast after all, and moreover, I’m a huge fan of the Boeing 747: the elegant grande dame of the skies, and probably the only one amongst all wide-bodied jets currently in service that I’d actually call beautiful.

Alas, the 747 has been phased out of ANA’s fleet, and the only aircraft currently flying with the special livery is a 777 serving domestic routes (timetables here). Oh well, I may not be in love with the external form of 777s but I do like flying in them, so I suppose I should give that specimen a shot on one of my future trips to Japan.

One Response

  1. […] Not to worry – I did make it to the gate ahead of time, and even had a few moments to admire a little piece of aviation and anime history rolled into one. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

