Diego’s day on the Naruto train

A couple of weeks ago, after a day trip to Tsuyama for a spot of hanami – more on that in this post on my travel blog – I headed for the station to catch the first available rapid service back to Okayama.

Imagine my surprise when the sight of this train greeted me on the platform.

It was a completely unplanned encounter. I’d chosen my trains based primarily on timetables, and I wasn’t even aware that this limited-edition promotional service was running on the Tsuyama Line. (There were ads playing in the JR ticket office in Okayama, but I didn’t pay much attention to them at the time.)

Nothing special about the hardware itself, just an ordinary local-type train – diesel powered from the looks of it – but the wrap-around decor and the banners inside the carriage certainly livened things up a bit.

For more information about the train, check out this page.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

